1) Month of January 2018 – Charge hand over ceremony of new Chairman of ASI Assam took place on 6th January 2018 in a function organised by Guwahati city branch at Hotel Pragati Manor, Guwahati. The newly elected chairman Dr. Satyendra Nath Choudhury took over charge from the outgoing chairman Dr. Ramen K. Kalita in presence of a galaxy of past chairmen, GC member Dr. S Bora and other members from all over the state. A CME on pain management was also organised along with the function which was addressed by Dr. Siddharth Phukan, Dr. Manoj K Choudhury , a past chairman addressed the gathering and gave a PowerPoint presentation on the feasibility of holding an ASICON at Guwahati in near future.

2) A general body meeting of the Guwahati branch of ASI Assam was also held along with the charge hand over ceremony where the members decided to retain the same executive body for another period with Dr. Kanakeswar Bhuyan as chairman and Dr. Siddharth Phukan as secretary.

3) A press meet was organised at Guwahati press club on 11/1/2018 in connection with holding of 26th Annual Conference of National Academy of Burns – India scheduled to be held from 18-21 of January 2018 and to be jointly organised by association of Plastic Surgeons of Northeast India, ASI Assam Chapter and Gauhati Medical College, Guwahati. It was addressed by Dr. Seemarekha Devi, President, NABI and Dr. S N Choudhury, Chairman, ASI, Assam, Dr. Ramen Kalita, Imm. past chairman ASI, Assam and Dr. Dipak K Sarma were also present.

4) NABICON 2018 ( 26th annual conference of NABI) began with a video workshop for physiotherapists and nurses at Gauhati Medical College Hospital lecture theatre on 18th January 2018. A quiz programme was also held where Prof. (Dr) Dipak K Sarma acted as quiz master.

5) Main NABICON functions were held at Greenwood Resort, Guwahati from 19th to 21st January 2018. Reputed international faculties from USA, UK, Singapore and China and many eminent national faculties and delegates took part. Several ASI, Assam chapter past chairmen and active members viz Dr. Bhupen Deka, Dr. Bhupendra Prasad Sarma, Dr. Rabin Mazumder, Dr. Ramen Kalita, Dr. S N Choudhury, Dr. Nareswar Sarma, Dr. Siddhartha Phukan, Dr. Dipak K Sharma, Dr. Rocket Brahma, etc took active part in the conference. The chief editor of the souvenir, NABICON was Dr. S N Choudhury and executive editor was Dr. Dipak K Sharma.

Dr. S Bora addressing the gathering at charge hand over ceremony.

Past chairmen and senior members in audience.

Dr. Ramen Kalita handing over the charge to new Chairman Dr. Satyendra Nath Choudhury.

Dr. S N Choudhury taking over the charge.

Dr. S N Choudhury addressing the gathering.

Dr. Manoj K Choudhury, a past chairman addressing the gathering on the feasibility of holding an ASICON at Guwahati.