

THE ASSOCIATION OF SURGEONS OF INDIA (HEAD OFFICE)

(Regd.No.20 of 1940-41 UnderTamil Nadu Societies Act XXI of 1860)
18, Adam's Road (21, Swami Sivananda Salai), Chepauk, Chennai-600 005, INDIA.
CONTACT: (044) 25383459/25381685/25385584/25367095

Email:-<u>headoffice@asiindia.org</u>
Website: www.asiindia.org

General Rules for Elections

Eligible Voter's List who can participate in the voting for 2017 is available at ASI Website.

If any discrepancies are noted, please bring to the notice of Chief Election Officer on or before 15th August 2017.

Corrected eligible voter's list will be put up at ASI Website on 16th of August 2017.

Proposer and Seconder of nomination should be full life members of ASI of ten years standing.

All nominations forms shall be scrutinized and approved by all Election Officers.

A brief and correct bio-data not exceeding 30 lines for the post of President ASI 2018 and President ASI 2019 and 10 Lines for the post of Executive Committee Member 2016 - 2018 from Gujarat & West Bengal State Chapters, duly signed by the candidate must be sent along with the nomination (Paper Size A-4, type size 10 font).

The bio-data must be signed by the candidate. Failure to send the bio-data as prescribed and without signature of the candidates will entail rejection.

A high resolution colour photograph signed on the reverse by the candidate with name also should be send along with the nomination form to be put up at the website.

A Demand Draft for Rs. 10,000/- (Rupees Ten Thousand only) for the post of President ASI 2018 and for the post of President ASI 2019 and Rs. 5,000/- (Rupees Five thousand only) for the post of Executive Committee Member from Gujarat & West Bengal State Chapters 2016 - 2018 in favour of "The Association of Surgeons of India" payable at Chennai along with each nomination should be sent as Non-Refundable Deposit.

Any candidate who wishes to have the eligible voter's list and the list of re-registered members who can take part in electronic voting can avail that from the ASI Head Office at Chennai at a cost of Rs.5,000/- (Rupees Five Thousand only), which may be sent by DD in favour of "The Association of Surgeons of India" payable at Chennai.

NOTE:

Any complaints / disputes arising out of election process shall be referred to the Chief Election Officer / President & Honorary Secretary who in turn will forward the complaints

after scrutiny to the Election Tribunal whose decision shall be final.

Misinformation and spreading false rumours regarding election to other contestants and voters

by mail, phone or post amounts to indiscipline and is liable for suitable action.

Any person approaching the judiciary without exhausting the redressal mechanisms

within the Association stands at risk of getting disciplinary proceedings initiated

against him. No legal proceeding shall be instituted by any person outside the

jurisdiction of the Chennai Civil Court regarding the election disputes.

Your password received either in the mobile or mail shall not be informed or transferred

to anyone.

Eligibility:

(i). Nominations for the post of President shall be from Full Life Members with voting rights of

not less than 10 years standing in the Association. They should have been elected at least once to the Governing Council in the past. Candidates from areas/ groups not eligible to have been

represented by an elected GC member should have been a member (nominated or ex-officio) of

GC at least for one term.

(ii). Nomination for the post of Executive Committee Member from recognized State Chapters

shall be from Full Life Members of not less than 5 years standing in the Association. They should have served at the state level as an elected member of the Executive Committee at least once and

should have completed one full term. The nomination shall have the proposer and seconder from

the same State and shall be preferably endorsed by the state executive.

(iii). Nominations for more than one of the post simultaneously will not be accepted:

Dr. Krishna Rau B Election Officer Dr. Kaushik Shah Election Officer

Dr. Shiva K Misra Chief Election Officer & President

Date: 25th July 2017 Place: Chennai